The Air Emissions Reporting Requirements (AERR) rule (40 CFR Parts 2 and 51) is a Federal regulation that requires states, local agencies, and some tribes (collectively known as State, Local and Tribal Authorities or SLTs) to report annual emission data to the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).  The current version requires the SLTs (typically the delegated local air permitting authority) to collect and submit emission data for criteria pollutants (e.g., particulate matter, ozone, carbon monoxide, sulfur dioxide, nitrogen dioxide and lead) and precursors (e.g., volatile organic compounds), but does not require Hazardous Air Pollutant (HAP) reporting. 

read more